Copies of a resource

I have come across a strange situation whislt stocktaking. Three copies of a book are recorded in OASIS. Two were accessioned on the same date in 1997 and from the same source and have consecutive barcodes. One of these two were recorded as missing after the last stocktake (2008). The second of these two (i.e. the one that is not marked as missing) however, does not have a record appearing in the library catalogue when I search through sentral – but it does exist on the shelves. A search in ‘My Library’ tells me we have 2 of 3 on the shelves.

What has happened is that one copy was discarded, however when the data entry was done to change the status from C to D (for Disposed) it was done against the incorrect copy. As I mentioned in a posting yesterday, people need to double check that the barcode when the Copies information comes up, as there may be more than one copy of a resource and they need to select N = Next to find the other copy.